Thursday, 18 February 2010

Taking the test, come mark me!


As you know, I've been on a bit of learning the rules mission lately, so when SpikeyBits posted the Grand Tournament rules exam, I just knew that I'd have to give it a go. I can honestly say that between first seeing the post and posting this blog, I haven't looked at the rulebook at all. I figure if I want to know how well I know the rules, I'd better do the test properly, otherwise what's the point in taking it.

My answers are below, I really encourage you to mark me and point out where I've got it wrong. Right, now for the test ....

1. When models in one unit move at different speeds, how far can the unit move?
  • a. All models in the unit may move no further than the speed of the fastest model.
  • b. The models in the unit move at their individual speeds (as long as they maintain coherency).
  • c. All models in the unit may move no further than the speed of the slowest model.
C - at the rate of the slowest model.

2. If you roll a six sided die to get a D3 result, and you rolled a ‘4’ on the six sided die, what would the result equate to?
  • a. 1
  • b. 2
  • c. 3
B - 2, take the result, divide by 2 and round up.

3. What is the most important rule of Warhammer 40,000?
  • a. If in doubt, roll a d6
  • b. The loudest player is always right
  • c. Have fun
C - Have fun - I live by it.

4. If you fire the main gun from a Basilisk Artillery to an enemy unit, what should you measure from (on the Basilisk) to determine if you are in range to the enemy unit?
  • a. The closest edge of the Basilisk to the enemy model
  • b. The tip of the gun barrel to the enemy model
  • c. The center of the Basilisk to the enemy model
B - From the tip of the weapon.

5. Can you mount a Space Marine Dreadnought on a 25mm round base?

No, it has to be mounted on the base it came on, plus it wouldn't fit!

6. Can you mount a Space Marine on a 50mm base?

No, see above.

7. What are the 3 main types of terrain? (Please circle the correct answers)
Answer: Clear - Individual - Difficult - Area - Dangerous - Impassable.

Clear, Difficult, Impassable - Terrain is classed as it effects movement.

8. Can a vehicle count as being in cover if it is in a wood?

Only if the wood obscures 50% of the hull.

9. How many dice do you roll when you move a unit of 5 infantry through woods?

2D6 and pick the highest.

10. How many dice do you roll when you move a unit of 5 Bikes through woods?

2D6 and pick the highest.

11. How many dice do you roll when a vehicle moves 12” through woods?

2, 1 for every 6" or partof.

12. How many dice do you roll when a unit of 5 Cavalry moves through woods?

3D6 and pick the highest

13. If a unit wishes to move into a wooded area (5” away from the closest model) and they roll their difficult terrain check. (rolling a maximum move of 4”) do they…
  • a.Move up to the edge of the woods (5” of clear movement), but can not go in since this would put them further into the woods than they would have rolled.
  • b.Move their maximum move (6”) up to and into the woods, since they didn’t go further than 4” through the woods itself.
  • c.Move no more than 4” since that is the highest result rolled, even though they didn’t go into the woods.
C - this represents them moving cautiously towards the woods.

14. If a unit wishes to move into a wooded area (5” away from the closest model) and they roll their difficult terrain check. (rolling a maximum move of 4”) and they decide to stay put instead (moving 0”) Can they fire their heavy weapon since they didn’t move any models in that unit?

No, if you roll, you count as moving even if you choose not to move the models after you roll.

15. When one of your models must pass a Toughness check. What do you do?
  • a.Roll 1d6 and compare it to the models toughness; to succeed you have to roll equal to or more than your toughness characteristic.
  • b.Roll 1d6 and compare it to the models toughness, to succeed you have to roll less than you toughness characteristic.
  • c.Roll 1d6 and compare it to the models toughness, to succeed you have to roll equal or lower than your toughness characteristic.
  • d.Roll 1d6 and compare it to the models toughness, to succeed you have to score higher than your toughness characteristic.
C - equal or lower on characteristic tests

16. (T/F) A model may move through friendly intervening models.

True - Only if their base would fit through the gap.

17. What save is allowed by the following cover types:
  • Razor Wire: ____6+
  • Wrecks: ____4+
  • Woods: ____ 4+
  • Ruins: ____4+
  • High grass: ____5+
  • Bunkers: ____3+
18. If a unit of Space Marines moves 6” in the movement phase, what is the furthest distance they may shoot with their bolters? (Rapid Fire, 24” max range)

12" as they must remain still to shoot at maximum range with rapid fire weapons

19. If a Space Marines Sergeant moves 1” in the movement phase, and the rest of the unit stayed still, what is the furthest distance they may shoot with their Bolters? (Rapid Fire, 24” max range)

12" as the whole unit counts as moving even if only one model moved.

20. (T/F) If a unit loses coherency due to casualties, it may stay where it is and act normally as long as it does not move, but if it does move, they must move back into coherency.)

False, units must move into coherency as soon as possible unless pinned, gone to ground etc.

21. You fire a Melta-Gun (Assault 1, 12” range) at an enemy unit (within 6”). Do you still get a bonus attack if you charge into them in the Assault phase?

Yes, it's an assault weapon, so you may still assault and the bonus attack isn't dependant of shooting, the assault is (ie no assault for units firing rapid fire weapons)

22. If you opt to only fire a Bolter (Rapid Fire, 24” max range) weapon once at an enemy unit (within 6”), may you then assault them in the Assault phase?

No, see above.

23. A Rending Weapon scores an automatic wound with no armor save allowed on:
  • a.A roll to wound of 6 (regardless of the model’s toughness)
  • b.A roll to hit of 6 (regardless of their BS)
  • c.A roll to hit of 6 followed by another roll of 6
  • d.A roll to wound of 6 followed by another 6
A - rending on a 6 to wound only.

24. When removing casualties from a flamer template you:
  • a.Remove wounded models from under the template
  • b.Remove wounded models from anywhere in the unit, only as long as they are in range of the flamer weapon.
  • c.Remove wounded models from anywhere in the unit even if they lay further out than the range of the flamer, as long as you have line of sight.
  • d.Remove wounded models from anywhere in the unit even if they lay further out than the range of the template.
D - casualty removal is down to the owning player and not dependant on template position so that templates can't be used to take out specific models such as sgt's with power fists etc.

25. A unit of Space Marines rapid fires at a unit consisting of 5 Orks (T 4, sv 6) and 6 Grots (T2, sv -). The Marines score 8 hits with their Bolt Guns (Str 4, AP 5) on the unit. What happens next?
  • a.You roll 6 of the 8 hits against the T2 Grots since they are in the majority, and the remaining 2 hits against the T4 Orks. So you would need 6 rolls of 2+ and the remaining rolls need a 4+ to wound.
  • b.You roll all of the wounds against the T2 Grots since they are in the majority, so you would need 2’s with all of your rolls.
  • c.You roll all of the wounds against the T4 Orks since they are in the majority, so you would need 4’s with all of your rolls.
  • d.You don’t even need to roll since the AP of your Bolt Guns are better than their armor save. (AP 5 vs. the Orks save of 6)
B - majority rules, only go for highest T if no majority.

26. If a Krak Missile (Str 8, Ap 3) wounds a Space Marine (sv 3+) does he get to make an armor save?

No - AP's equal to or lower than armour save allow no save.

27. What if a unit of 5 Space Marines (T4, sv 3) has 3 models of the squad is in cover, and 2 are in the open. They take 3 Krak missile (Str 8, ap 3). What happens?
  • a.You would allocate the first two hits against the marines out of cover, since the AP = their armor save, they are removed automatically. Then 1 other Marine would get a cover save that is appropriate for the cover he is in.
  • b.You would allocate the wounds, then get to make 3 Cover saves against all of the AP3 shots, since the majority of the models are in cover.
  • c.You would remove 3 Marines since the AP = their armor save, they are removed automatically. No one gets a cover save if the entire unit isn’t in cover.
  • d.You would get to make 3 normal saves against all of the AP3 shots, since the AP of the weapon isn’t lower than the Marines armor save (3+).
B - majority rules regards to cover and applies to the whole unit.

28. If a Space Marine Chaplain (Sv 3+/Inv sv 4+) gets wounded by a Heavy Bolter (Ap 4) shot.
  • a.The Chaplain gets to make one saving throw either 3+ or his Invulnerable 4+.
  • b.The Chaplain gets to make a 3+ armor saving throw, followed by his invulnerable 4+ saving throw IF he fails his armor roll.
  • c.The Chaplain only gets to make a 3+ armor saving throw only, Since the Ap 4 of the heavy bolter equals his invulnerable save (4+).
A - you make one save and always get invulnerable saves regardless of weapon ap etc.

29. If a unit is already pinned. Does it have to make a morale test for taking 25% casualties at the end of the shooting phase?

No - pinning overrides morale tests

30. (T/F) A unit only ever makes one Morale check in a phase for pinning.

False, a unit can be force to take multiple pinning tests from fire from different units.

31. (T/F) A unit only ever makes one Morale check in a turn for 25% casualties.

True - I think, but it's a bit of a guess!

32. If a unit of Space Marines hits an enemy unit with 2 Frag Missile Rounds (burst), you would resolve the hits how?
  • a.You place one template catching as many models as possible, covered models are auto hits and partials are hit on a 4+. After this first template has been resolved and casualties have been removed work out the next template and so on.
  • b.You place one template, putting one model under the hole, covered models are auto hits and partials are hit on a 4+. After this first template has been resolved and casualties have been removed work out the next template and so on.
  • c.You place one template, centering one model under the hole, models touched are auto hits. After this first template has been resolved for the number of hits, multiply that number by the number of templates, in this case two.
Not sure on this one as arn't partials out in 5ed? I thought that you place the template anywhere (not centred on one model) work out the hit, then place the second in the same way to work out the total hits before rolling to wound and working out casualties.

33. If a model has a combination of wargear that both add to and multiply one of its characteristics:
  • a.Multiply the basic value and add the extra points.
  • b.Add the extra points to the basic value then multiply the total.
  • c.You may only have one effect on any one of your characteristics, so you pick the best benefit to you.
A - Multiply then add!

34. In an Assault, a unit kills all models in their 2” kill zone; the enemy then fails their morale check and flees combat. Can the victor sweeping advance into them?

Yes, if the can get higher or equal to in a roll of I + D6

35. If a unit that is fleeing gets charged by the enemy…
  • a.The charging unit destroys the fleeing unit automatically
  • b.The fleeing unit must make an immediate fall back roll again, if they do not get far enough away, they are destroyed.
  • c.The fleeing unit must make an immediate morale check to regroup, if they fail they are destroyed. Otherwise they regroup and fight as normal.
  • d.The fleeing unit must make an immediate morale check (no modifyers), if they fail they are destroyed. Otherwise they fight in HtH as normal.
  • e.The charging unit locks them into HtH but gets no charging bonus.
  • f.The charging unit locks them in HtH and gets their charge bonus.
F - failing back units automatically regroup if charged.

36. If a victorious unit consolidates into a nearby enemy.
  • a.The units are locked in HtH and it is treated as a charge.
  • b.The units are locked in HtH and it is not treated as a charge.
  • c.The units are not locked in HtH and are free to move away before the next round of HtH combat.
  • d.The victorious unit may not consolidate into HtH.
I thought you couldn't consolidate into another combat? I'm starting to think this is a 4ed test!

37. When fighting multiple combats (i.e. one unit fighting two or more enemy units) to determine the loser you:
  • a.Determine wounds inflicted and received on each unit separately and then have each unit make a morale check separately.
  • b.Determine wounds inflicted and received total and then have each unit make a morale check separately.
B - totals apply (I think)

38. When fighting multiple combats (i.e. one unit fighting two or more enemy units) and one side has unit(s) that flee, you:
  • a.If the victorious units are now unengaged, they make one sweeping advance roll to compare to all of the fleeing unit totals.
  • b.If the victorious units are now unengaged, they make a sweeping advance roll to compare to each of the fleeing units separately.
  • c.The victorious units make one sweeping advance roll to compare to all of the fleeing unit totals.
  • d.The victorious units make a sweeping advance roll to compare to each of the fleeing units separately.
B - I +D6 depends on the units I value and so may be different, therefore two tests.

39. When is a unit considered to be ‘off’ the table?
  • a.When one or more models in the unit fully move beyond the edge of the table
  • b.When the entire unit crosses the edge of the table
  • c.When one or more model edge’s goes over but doesn’t completely cross the edge of the table
C - anyone touches the table edge and your gone.

40. If an Independent character assaults with a unit and is in the 2” of a friendly modle in base to base, but not in base to base themselves, can he participate in the combat?

No, he must be in base to base to take part in the combat.

41. (T/F) A Monstrous Creature can re-roll difficult terrain checks.

Monstrous creatures ignore difficult terrain, so no test to reroll.

42. What is the maximum strength of a defensive weapon?

Strength 4 (I hate that rule)

43. Which of the following weapons would remove a Space Marine Captain (4 toughness, 3 wounds, and a save of 3+) due to instant death? (circle all that apply)
  • a.A Plasma Gun (Str: 7, Ap 2)
  • b.A Krak Missile (Str: 8, AP 3)
  • c.A Las Cannon (Str: 9, AP 2)
  • d.An Assault Cannon (Str: 6, AP 4) (with a rending result)
B & C - Double strength for ID, AP equal or lower for no save.

44. (T/F) A vehicle moves less than 6” and is destroyed; the passengers are wounded on a roll of 4+ and must make a normal pinning check.

Errm ... this is definitely a 4ed test. If a vehicle explodes, all models within D6" take a S4 wound otherwise no need to roll for wounds, eg - destroyed results.

45. (T/F) A vehicle that is stunned (may not move or shoot) cannot use smoke launchers.

False, vehicles may always use smoke launchers but only once.

46. You defeat a fearless unit in hand to hand combat (by 2 more wounds) and outnumber him 3:1. How many additional wounds does he suffer?

2 wounds, he takes the difference for not been able to break off.

47. Can a character detach from a fleeing squad he had joined?

No, if he was in for the fight, he's in for the flight!

48. Can a character charge out of a friendly squad he had joined by himself?

No, if he didn't move away in the movement phase, then he's with them until the next movement phase when he can choose to move away if he wants.

49. An Imperial Guard infantry squad is reduced below 50% from shooting and flees. Do they get to regroup at the beginning of your next turn?

No, no regrouping below half strength.

50. Circle the vehicle types you may assault out of the turn the vehicle moved.
  • Chimeras
  • Skimmers
  • Open topped
  • Fast
  • Land Raiders
Open topped and those land raiders with the flak thingies.

51. If a model rapid fires twice with a Plasma Gun (gets hot), what will it overheat on?

A roll of 1 on either or both dice.

52. What is the penetration roll for a sniper rifle? And is it possible for it to to a penetrating hit on a rhino (AV 11)

S3 plus D6 plus another D6 if first was a 6 due to rending. Maximum 15, so hell yes!

53. Can a melta gun (Str 8, Ap 1) penetrate a land raider (av 14) at 12” (max range)?

No, it'll get a glancing hit on a 6, but needs to be within 6" for the extra D6.

54. Space Marines (In 4) charge Dark Eldar (In 5) while the Eldar are in woods area terrain. What initiative do the Dark Eldar strike on? (no one has grenades for this example)

Not sure about what initiative but pretty sure the DE go first. I think they count as having I10 with being in cover.

55. As above, but what initiative do the Space Marines strike on?

They strike on I4 - I think!

56. A Rhino troop transport armed only with a storm bolter is struck on its front armor (11) by a las cannon (S9). The roll to penetrate is a 2. On the appropriate damage chart a 5 rolled. On the subsequent turn an auto-cannon (S7) hits the Side armor (11). The roll to penetrate is a 5. On the appropriate damage chart a 3 is rolled. On the third turn a chaos marine armed with a bolter hit the rear armor (10) of the rhino with is bolter (S4) and rolls a 6 to penetrate. On the appropriate damage chart a 5 is rolled. What happens to the rhino.

Definitely 4ed test, there's only one damage chart now. So, S9 + 2 = glancing hit, -2 on damage chart. 5 becomes 3 - weapon destroyed (I think). Second turn, penerating hit, no other weapons, so immobilised. Third turn doesn't count since no weapons and immobilised counts as destroyed. 

57. Perils of the warp. If a psyker rolls a 2 to engage a psychic power, what happens?
  • a.The power does not go off.
  • b.The power goes off.
  • c.The power does not go off and the psyker takes a str d6 hit, with no save allowed of any kind.
  • d.The power does go off and the psyker takes a wound, with no armor save allowed, invulnerable saves must be re-rolled
4ed? Power goes off but psyker takes a wound from Perils of the Warp.

58. In the assault phase, a unit with jump packs wants to assault into woods…
  • a.They roll for difficult terrain and may only make an assault move if they have rolled well enough to contact an enemy model.
  • b.They are placed into assault with any models that are within 6” of them and each jump pack trooper must make a dangerous terrain check.
  • c.They roll for difficult terrain and move that distance even if it is not enough to get them into base to base contact.
  • d.They roll 2d6 and move the total distance rolled into contact with the enemy.
  • e.They roll for difficult terrain and may only make an assault move if they have rolled well enough to contact an enemy model. Each model that goes into the woods, will trigger a dangerous terrain check.
Errrm .... dangerous terrain tests only apply to the movement phase for jump troops as in assault, they run on foot. So, they'd roll D6 and if they make contact, assault is initiated, if not, they don't move.

59. If a rhino attempts to move through woods at a speed of 7” and rolls its dangerous terrain check. Is it possible for the result to be worse than an immobilized result? (if so what?)

No, it can only be immobilised, although it would roll 2D6 and any 1's would immobilise it.

60. If a standard transport vehicle moves 3” in the movement phase, and troops disembark towards the enemy. They can
  • a.Fire their weapons as having moved, and may assault in the assault phase, if the enemy are within 6”
  • b.Fire their weapons as having moved, but may not assault in the assault phase, even if they are within 6”
  • c.May not fire their weapons since they moved, but may assault in the assault phase, if the enemy are within 6”
B - if the vehicle moves, they may not assault unless it's open-topped but may fire as if they moved.

61. If a standard transport vehicle remains stationary in the movement phase, and troops disembark towards the enemy. They can
  • a.Fire their weapons as having moved, and may assault in the assault phase, if the enemy are within 6”
  • b.Fire their weapons as having moved, but may not assault in the assault phase, even if they are within 6”
  • c.May not fire their weapons since they moved, but may assault in the assault phase, if the enemy are within 6”
  • d.May move shoot and assault as if they moved normally, but were the same as being out of the vehicle the entire time.
A - if the vehicle hasn't moved, then the may act normally after disembarking.

62. If a bike unit declares it is using it turbo boosters to get the invulnerable save, how far does it have to move to get the bonus?

18" and must travel in a straight line (not sure on the straight line bit)

63. (T/F) If a vehicle is in a wooded area, and your opponent scores a penetrating hit. The hit is automatically downgraded to a glancing shot.

No, but if 50% of hull is covered, then can claim a cover save of 4+ to ignore shot (Damn 4ed)

64. (T/F) A Melta Weapon automatically treats any glancing hit result against vehicles as a penetrating hit instead.

No, but they do get +1 on the damage chart for being AP1

65. (T/F) Offensive grenades, when assaulting into cover, allow all models to strike in initiative order.

True

66. What happens if an Ordinance blast hits an open topped vehicle vehicle, how may dice do you roll for armor penetration? Are there any extra effects as well?

2D6 for ordinance, plus 1 to damage for being open topped (might be +2)

67. (T/F) If an Ordinance blast hits a vehicle but the center of the blast is over the vehicle, the strength of the hit is resolved at half strength.

False - the hole has to be over the hull for full strength, overwise it's half strength (unless it's a deathstrike, I need me one of those!)

68. (T/F) If a character that does not have infiltrate joins a unit that has infiltrate; the unit loses the infiltrate skill.

True, IC's will force units to lose abilities if they don't have them.

69. (T/F) A fearless character joins a unit that does not have the fearless ability, the unit becomes fearless.

False - IC abilities do not transfer onto the units they join.

70. (T/F) If a character joins a unit that is Fearless, he becomes fearless.

False (I think, in all honesty, I don't know, so it's a guess)

71. (T/F) A unit with the “preferred enemy” special ability, re-rolls any failed to hits in the first round of combat.

False, they hit on 3+ as standard and I think they get +1 to I, but not sure on that.

72. A unit of Space Marines (and they shall know no fear) flees from combat, and are caught by sweeping advance. What happens to the unit? Be specific.

They die!

73. What two special rules apply to Swarms?

Vunerable to blasts and are fearless! Actually isn't swarms a rule itself now?

74. XXXXXXXXXXXX CENSORED XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

That was an easy question!

75. A unit of space marines (3 bolter marines, 1 flamer marine, & 1 sergeant) take 7 wounds to be allocated. The owning player allocates one wound to each model, and the extra two wounds get placed on the bolter marines. The owning player rolls five saves for the bolter marines. He rolls (1,1,2,2,5) how many marines are removed from the unit? (circle one)
  • a.3 bolter marines and the remaining failed save results in the owning player removing the sergeant as well.
  • b.3 bolter marines. The extra “failed save” is ignored since all of the models in that group are already removed as casualties.
  • c.The defending player rolls all of the dice together and removes anyone he wishes as casualties, the Missile Launcher Trooper can not be picked out, since he is not a character model.
  • d.3 bolter marines and the remaining failed save results in the owning player removing the sergeant as well.

4ed strikes again. Each set of allocated wound would have to be rolled separately and any failed saves only applied to the group / model they were allocated to.

76. (T/F) Units with “Counter-attack” must take terrain into account when they make their Counter Attack move.

False - although, I truth, I don't know for sure, so that's a guess.

77. (T/F) In a game using Random Game Length, at the end of turn 5, you would begin by rolling a d6. On a roll of 4+ the game continues, on a roll of 1-3 the game is over. Repeat this process at the end of each turn, until a roll of 1, 2, or 3 has finally been rolled.

False T5 4+, T6 +3 T7 +2

Well, that's the test done. It became apparent during the test that it's for 4ed (Damn you SpikeyBits - lol), but I continued anyway. You'll notice that I've tried to answer the questions as fully as possible, as I wanted this to be a test of my knowledge and understanding of the rules. I felt that I did pretty good in the movement, terrain, basic shooting and cover questions, but these are areas I've relearn so far as part of my 'cure of MES' progress but when I got to the assault, vehicles and IC questions, things started to get a bit more hazy and I wasn't as sure as I was with the earlier questions.

So guys, it's time to get your red markers out and start checking my answers. I'll look forward to you lot pointing out my errors in the comments. So, how did I do guys?

16 comments:

Dverning said...

Mostly you were right. Here's the ones I spotted:
#6, Technically you're allowed to mount on a larger base with opponent permission, but I think the simple T/F was all they were looking for here.

#10, 5. Bike are not slowed by difficult terrain, but instead take dangerous terrain test. So you would roll 1 die per model to see if they ate tree.

#11, 1. Despite all, this one got me a month ago too. The distance moved by a vehicle no longer matters. You only roll 1d6 no matter what.

#12, 2. Cavalry take difficult terrain like normal Infantry (2d6, or 3d6 if they have Move Through Cover) and then double the result for their movement.

#16, Badly worded as it is both True and False. True as you can move through the gaps between, True as some models can move over (Jump Infantry, Jetbikes, and Skimmers), but technically False as you can never move THROUGH intervening models.

#31, False. Technically, a unit has to take a Morale check any PHASE they take 25% casualties. So, for example, a Mawloc jumps out and causes 25% casualties in the enemy Movement phase, that's check 1. Your opponent could then force a second check in the Shooting Phase. Also works with Swooping Hawks and a few other rare items.

#32. You're correct that all the choices are wrong. You place template 1 with the hole on a model's base (centered not required), resolve deviation, and then hit all models whose bases are fully or partially under the template. You record the number of hits and then do the same for the second template. Then you total up the hits and start rolling to Wound.

#34. You're right, though there's also the cases where the victor is still locked in CC or a unit type that cannot SA (Termies).

#35, C. BRB, page 46. Though they're destroyed if the regroup fails, it allows them a chance even when below 50% and the like. As fleeing units are removed as casualties if still falling back as the end of the game, that is why players will choose to "escort" the unit off the field by remaining within 6" rather than assaulting them.

#36. You're correct, you can't consolidate into HtH and the answer should be D.

#41. False. Kind of a trick question... All MCs have Move Through Cover and roll 3d6 for distance, but do not get a re-roll.

#44. You're correct. I think it was actually converted from a 4th ed test and some bad wording and questions slipped through... There's several things that are pure 5th, so I don't think it's meant only as a 4th ed test.

#50. Actually, it's any Land Raider due to Assault Ramps. The Frag Assault Launchers for Crusaders and Redeemers just give you frag grenades if you don't otherwise have them.

#52. Nope! A Rending 6 for AP gives +d3, not d6. So the Sniper Rifle has a 3+6+3 maximum. Still enough to pop a Rhino, but not a Predator or Land Raider.

#53. Well, a meltagun can Penetrate at 12" if the unit has Tank Hunters, but I think your answer is the one being looked for.

#54. I5. Cover does not impart an Initiative bonus any more...

#55. I1. Cover without grenades reduces the charging unit to I1.

#56. You're correct, except that the 3rd turn does matter. You can be Weapon Destroyed and Immobilized, but still on the field. It's the third Weapon Destroyed hit that commutes into a Destroyed-Wrecked.

#57. D. The key points being that the power does go off and that the Perils doesn't have a S value. Taking a S6 hit really sucked on my T3 Farseers...

Dverning said...

#58. You're correct and the answer is A. Mostly a check to make sure people aren't confusing things with Cavalry or other units.

#61. You're correct in your explanation, but chose the wrong answer. The correct is D, but is badly worded.

#62. Turbo-Boost does not have to be in a straight line, but they must end up at least 18" away from where they started to get the cover save.

#65. False. The effect is given by ASSAULT Grenades. There's no such thing as Offensive Grenades.

#66. 2d6 and *pick the highest*, then +1 for Open-Topped. S value halved rounding up if the center hole is not on the hull.

#69. You're correct that this is False, though some IC abilities will transfer from IC=>Unit, Fearless is not one of them.

#70. True. A Fearless unit WILL make an attached IC Fearless too.

#71. False, but only because they can ALWAYS re-roll failed to-hits in CC. The hit on a 3+ is the old rule. There's no bonus to I either and you might be thinking Furious Charge.

#72. Nope! They regroup! ATSKNF allows Marines to automatically pass regroup checks. Though they become subject to "No Retreat!" because of it.

#73, "Vulnerable to Blasts" and "Stealth" are both conferred by the Swarms rule.

#75. B. And yeah, another "Are you playing 5th" kinda rule.

#76. False, though again due to bad writing. There is no such thing as a Counter Attack move. Models use "Defenders React" and ignore terrain when moving. Then they also take a Ld check for Counter Attack and if passed, count as charging.

#77. False, but because Turn 5 you continue on a 3+, T6 is a 4+, T7 end.

I honestly don't think this was meant to be a 4th ed test as there's several things in there that don't apply prior to 4th. What I think happened is this was a 4th ed test updated to be a 5th ed test, but there's bad wording and errors. Were it my test, I can also think of some things that weren't covered, such as Go To Ground. (Also, I'd mix it up so that it isn't quite so in line with the rulebook layout...)

Max said...

I'd agree with Dverning I think, though the question about cavalry I believe has a different answer than what was posted above.

Cavalry get double movement if charging, otherwise they move as normal.

I'll probably do a similar kind of post sometime next week, so we can compare answers in full then :)

Warhammer39999 said...

Of course, pony boy beats me to it... My thoughts:



12. Vehicles don't test for difficult terrain--only for dangerous terrain.

32. C. The question really focuses around the fact that you place all templates, and remove casualties after determining hits. In previous editions, you could strategically unclump victims by thinning them out after the first blast. This is no longer possible.


34. This question is deliberately confusing. There is no 2" kill zone rule anymore. That said, they can use the sweeping advance (as you said) per the sweeping advance rules.


35. C. They don't automatically regroup.

36. I agree with you. Consolidation is no longer possible into another unit.

38. B sounds right. I had to look this one up, and seems like it's the right answer.

41. You made me look up another. They do get "move through cover" autmoatically, but they don't ignore difficult terrain altogether.

44. Correct--almost. You only take a wound on strength 3, and then only if the vehicle EXPLODES! not if it's merely wrecked (the question only stated "destroyed" which technically isn't a possibility anymore.

46. Correct, outnumbering no longer factors into combat resolution.

50. Wrong-ish. All Land Raiders apparently allow you to assault out of them now. I got burned on this in an Apoc game.

52. Rending only grants an extra d3 now, so maximum is 12--but that can still penetrate.

53. Correct, but since it's Ap1, it could still possibly wreck the thing on a glance (max roll = 5).

54 & 55. I believe the Dark Eldar initiative isn't modified, but the marines, assaulting through cover strike at I1. It's symantecs though.

57. Nope, it's 5th ed. D is right.

59. See #12 above.

61. I'd say D. It really says what you explained. A limits them to a 6" charge, D does not.

69. By default, you're correct, there are notable exceptions though: Chaplains, for example, convey this ability to the squad.

70. /shrug

71. Would be the first time I heard of the +1 to I, so I doubt it.

72. What part of NO FEAR do you not understand? They take wounds equal to how much they lost the combat by--like a fearless unit.

73. They also get +1 to cover saves, and can't hold objectives. And yes, swarms is a rule to itself now.

75. B. This seems a clear example of 5th edition. He allocated the first wounds to the models and then started a 2nd round. In 4th edition, he'd roll the 6 wounds and distribute how he saw fit--though since more wounds were scored than the total number of marines, the shooting player could force a save on a particular model.

76. I agree with you, but I don't know for sure.

77. I believe it's T5 = 3+, T6 = 4+ t7 = Automatic

Dverning said...

12. Vehicles don't test for difficult terrain--only for dangerous terrain.
Yet BRB page 57 states “Vehicles… treat all difficult terrain as dangerous.” And the question only asks how many dice you roll when moving it through terrain, not what type of test is made.

44. Correct--almost. You only take a wound on strength 3, and then only if the vehicle EXPLODES! not if it's merely wrecked (the question only stated "destroyed" which technically isn't a possibility anymore.
Nope! Corbania was correct that it is a S4 hit. Destroyed-Explodes (BRB, page 61) causes a S3 area effect but does NOT affect the people on board. They are effected by Destroyed-Explodes (BRB, page 67) and suffer a S4 hit.

54 & 55… It's symantecs though.
Or even semantics. :-p

59. See #12 above.
Ah, but the question asked about the “dangerous terrain check”… So your response is negated.

Col. Corbane said...

Thanks for taking to mark me, overall I'm pretty pleased. Yes, I did get a lot of them wrong, but none in the areas I've recently studied.

So, hopefully, once I've covered the the rest of the rulebook, I should be able to handle the test quite well.

Here's hoping hey! I'll have to email GW and ask them for a copy of the last GT test - lol

Flekkzo said...

Vehicles behind woods. I think you are in cover if you are between two trees. There is something funky like that in the rules. I'd look it up really. Otherwise 50% is pretty much it.

I have yet to fully get the "escort units of the board" thing. Falling back units can still shoot! If you follow me you'll eat bolter rounds for sure:) Could you look that up and confirm or deny that for me? I understood the rules that way anyways:)

Maybe tests aren't that bad of an idea. Ever thought of posting about the rules that surprised you the most while you "study" them?

Zzzzzz said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Zzzzzz said...

Crikey ! Hats off to you all for knowing even half of that. No wonder I never win...

Firewasp said...

Having a look through the rule book.
For Q29: Does a unit still have to take morale checks for 25% casualties when pinned?

I think they do, provided the 25% is caused by a round of shooting separate from that which caused the pinning.
Or can anyone point to where in the rulebook it states otherwise?
For pinning it states that the unit is treated as though it has gone to ground. In the gone to ground section it says units which have gone to ground are still affected by morale checks as per normal.

bG said...

I saw this on buzz and had a go myself, haven't marked it myself yet but my list is here: http://www.google.com/buzz/114237193853668264075/2Zjvn5NW3pj/So-Col-Corbaine-posted-up-a-rules-quiz-see-link
and I think I got similar results to Col.

Awesome bringing this up.

Dverning said...

Vehicles behind woods. I think you are in cover if you are between two trees. There is something funky like that in the rules.
The 50% rule still takes precedence. So a vehicle in woods can take cover saves, but only if the shrubbery is 50%+ as tall as the vehicle. That's why you chould always have height markers for the size of any woods area terrain. It can really be a problem for big things like Land Raiders and Monoliths.

Falling back units can still shoot! If you follow me you'll eat bolter rounds for sure:)
Yes, Falling Back units can still shoot. But consider that they also always count as moving. So on my turn, I move to about 5" away or so. Fall Back is done on 2d6 combined, of which the average is 7. So normal chances are that only your closest guy or two will get a chance to shoot me. To freely destroy the unit, I'm willing to take a couple Bolter shots.
Escort duty is really only a prime consideration when the unit doesn't have much shooting and would cause more damage to destroy in CC than they would in getting escorted off. It's also better when you're in the opponent's back 1/3 of the board or it is late in the game.
Otherwise, it's best as a secondary duty. For instance, I'll often use my Howling Banshees as escorts. They jump a unit up close, break it and then move to escort it back. The next turn they go gunning for someone near and behind the first unit, smashing into them and still being close enough to keep the first group from regrouping.
That make a little more sense?

For Q29: Does a unit still have to take morale checks for 25% casualties when pinned?
Oh, good catch. Missed that one. BRB page 24, "but will react normall if affected by enemy actions (for example, it will take Morale tests as normal). If the unit has to fall back, it will return to normal immediately."
So yes, a unit that has G2G still takes Morale checks and can be forced to Fall Back.

HOTpanda said...

Awesome Blog post Col Corbane. First thing I did was take the test as well. Overall it was fun but I at times I felt that the trickery of questions where a little too much. I feel that a test of this kind at a tournament should not really on tricking the player but rather should rely on testing the player.

Question #62 is a prime example as turbo boosting does not provide an invulnerable save but rather a cover save.

When you combine the technique for the wording used in conjunction with a time limit the players are set up for failure. A test should never set up the person taking it to fail.

Overall though they test was fun and I would welcome a straight forward test to the tournament scene in my area.

Flekkzo said...

That is a much better explanation of escorting. Whenever I've read about it has always been described as a sure thing, i.e. "and then I escort the unit off the table", as if it was guaranteed safe, when it really is more of an option if the situation is favorable.

Col. Corbane said...

I think I'm going to retake the test when I've finished studying the rules and see if I can mark my own answers.

I all those who've also taken the test, nice one guys but I hope you're not expecting me to mark it, I can't get my own right, never mind mark someone elses - lol

Sholto said...

Great test, and a good find!

I took the test without reading the rulebook, and got 8 answers wrong.

In five cases, I believe the answers given in the Answer Key are incorrect.

33. Pg 42 only applies to special weapons, so if a piece of wargear allowed Furious Charge, then a S4 model with a power fist would hit at S9.

35. Answers c and d are identical.

45. An old question, but I believe the rules allow smoke launchers when stunned.

65. Only models with grenades may strike in initiative order, not "all models".

71. A unit with Preferred Enemy rerolls in all rounds of close combat, not just the turn they charge.

Sholto